Week 11

Dear baby

Today the coolest thing happened. Today, your daddy and I saw you for the first time. And you were ADORABLE!

There you are my little belly bean! >

2014-03-03 08.26.58

We had our first midwife appointment last week (a lovely lady called Sue who is going to take good care of us) and we found it hard to ascertain when you were conceived – so today was a dating scan.

We figured you could be anything from 6-8 weeks… but you are already TEN WEEKS old baby! You just continue to surprise us! That means that I was already 6 weeks pregnant when I did my first pregnancy test and you were conceived just before the New Year (which totally makes sense as I was so emotional over that time!) and we only have 2 weeks to go before we’re into the second trimester. Yussss.

I’ve been so incredibly lucky with you baby – having you growing in my tummy has made me VERY tired and VERY hungry, but apart from an increased sense of smell (your daddy usually smells delicious but… yeah… not so much right now, poor thing) I haven’t had any of the yukky sickness. You’ve just been quietly growing inside of me; you’ve been so good to your mumma.

So there we were – 8.15am on a Monday morning (I’ve never looked forward to a Monday morning so much!)… I had to drink 750ml of water 30 minutes before our appointment and NOT PEE (so of course I spent the entire journey to the clinic thinking about the loo – and, typical for your daddy, we were there 20 minutes early*, so I then had to sit cross-legged in the car wishing it to be over…) and I was pretty worried that I would wet my pants on the table as soon as the sonographer put pressure on my tummy… but I was far too distracted to think about my bladder once we went into the little room.

It was dark, with just the light from the computer and display screens glowing and making the room feel cosy. I had to lay on a comfy bed, with a big pillow, and pull up my shirt. The kind lady put some warm goo on my tummy and I reached up and held your daddy’s hand – and we kept our eye on the screen, on the wall above the door. The sonographer, Alison, rubbed a wand thing over my tummy from side to side. First she was checking to see if I had any cysts or anything on my ovaries or around the placenta – which I fortunately don’t. And then she moved the wand to the centre and slowly, but surely, the little bean shape in the black circle (my womb) came into focus. IT WAS YOU.

It was YOU baby. There you were. You were so clear and so big! “3.5cm,” Alison said “that makes it 10 weeks.” I have never felt so happy and tears spilled out of my eyes and I was giggling a bit so it made the image wobbly, and your daddy kissed me, and we just couldn’t take our eyes off you.

Alison said “can you see the baby moving?” And we could! A leg and an arm were moving, almost waving at us. It was too good for words. You just have so much space to move inside my womb at the moment – it’s hard to believe that before too long you will fill it all up and make my tummy swell!

I just looked at you for what felt like ages and could not believe that you had been there all this time. You looked so peaceful and comfortable and I’m sure your little tongue was sticking out! You’ve just been quietly growing inside my tummy, whilst I have been busy complaining about how tired I am, and how hungry I am, and how fat I am, and how I am hungry I am again, and how things smell gross, and how my boobs are sore, and getting all emotional over being emotional, and worrying about whether or not to eat lettuce and, meanwhile, you were inside my tummy just quietly growing.

You are so precious baby, and so clever, and strong – I left the clinic with pep in my step today, knowing that no matter what difficulties and discomforts are ahead of me I will embrace them all for you.

I love you so much baby! As I was cooking our dinner tonight your daddy said: “This is the best thing that has ever happened to me” (seeing you through the scan) – but he didn’t really say it to me, he kind of said it to himself. It was adorable. You will love your daddy so much! And it just makes me so happy – after everything he has done, and continues to do for me, the greatest gift I can possibly repay him with is growing in my tummy. Our beautiful baby. You.

We cannot wait to see you again.

Keep safe in there, I will take such good care of you.

Your mumma.
Xxx

*if you could be as punctual as your daddy, that would be fantastic by the way!

Leave a Reply

