Week 23

Dear baby

I’m now beginning my 6th month of pregnancy and I STILL have days where I cannot believe this is happening!

It’s not that I don’t believe in you, it’s just that I cannot believe something so amazing is really happening to me: that soon I am going to hold my very own baby in my arms. It’s just too good to be true.

It literally amazes me every single day that something so special is growing and developing inside of me, and I cannot wait to meet the person that will be half of me, and half of my darling Nick. The amazing thing about the creation of life, is that for every single woman who has ever conceived, and for every single baby that has ever been born – every single one is a little miracle in itself. I’m really not sure if I will ever stop being amazed about this. You will always be our little piece of magic, baby.

I hear a lot of complaints from women about their pregnancy experiences – and so far, beyond feeling less energetic and gradually more limited with my movements (which is only temporary of course), I’ve had none of the common complaints. On the one hand I feel so unbelievably fortunate at how well my body has adapted, as I do know that so many women suffer terribly with sickness and all sorts of other things. But on the other hand, I also know that there is a certain amount of helping oneself and being positive, something I strive to do each day (and some days are definitely easier than others, believe me… I won’t mention the 5 minute melt-down I had on a Country Road fitting room floor the other day…).

Your daddy keeps me on track though – and that’s the thing I am grateful for most of all, having someone who loves me so much that he dedicates so much of his energy to making me more comfortable. Not a day goes by that I don’t realise how fortunate I am to have him. Baby, if you are a little boy then I want you to watch your daddy as you grow up and follow his loving example. He will teach you what it is to be both strong and gentle. And if you are a little girl, baby, then I also want you to watch your daddy – and to grow up knowing how a man should behave, and to never settle for anyone (man or woman) who doesn’t treat you with respect, kindness, and unconditional affection. He will help you to see just how special you are.

Whether you are a boy or a girl, baby – your daddy will teach you that you are capable of anything, and I will teach you to shoot for the stars. And, together, we will teach you how it is to love.

Your daddy and I just love each other so much, baby. And out of our love came you. I want you to always remember that – so when there are times you get fed up at being served green vegetables for dinner again, or being told to go to bed when you would rather stay up and play games, or being denied the most expensive pair of school shoes (although somehow I have a feeling you’ll always win your daddy over with that one) – remember that you were brought into this world with love, and will always have it first and foremost, above anything else.

You are going to be your own little person, with a whole life of your own to live and explore and to feel and enjoy – but to us, you will always be our baby, and we will always remember the love that brought you here and will remind you of that as often as we can.

I adore your daddy, baby – and whilst you are my gift to him, he is my gift to you. Your daddy and I joined together in love, and you have fused us together for life.

Our little piece of magic.

Your Mumma
Xx

 

Ps: this song ‘Go Gentle’ by Robbie Williams (my first love before your daddy haha) was written for his baby. It’s exactly what your daddy and I will sing for you:

“Go Gentle”

“You’re gonna meet some strangers.
Welcome to the zoo.
Bitter disappointments.
Except for one or two.
Some of them are angry.
Some of them are mean.
Most of them are twisted.
Few of them are clean.

Now when you go dancing with
young men down at the disco.
Just keep it simple.
You don’t have to kiss though.

[Chorus]
For all your days and nights
I’m gonna be there,
I’m gonna be there,
yes I will.
Go gentle through your life.
If you want me I’ll be there.
When you need me I’ll be there
for you.

Don’t try to make them love you.
Don’t answer every call.
Baby be a giant.
Let the world be small.
Some of them are deadly.
Some don’t let it show.
If they try and hurt you.
Just let your daddy know.

Now when you go giving your heart make
sure they deserve it.
If they haven’t earned it.
Keep searching, it’s worth it.

[Chorus]
For all your days and nights
I’m gonna be there,
I’m gonna be there,
yes I will.
Go gentle through your life.
If you want me I’ll be there.
When you need me I’ll be there
for you.

Go gentle to the light.
I’m gonna be there,
I’m gonna be there,
yes I will.
If all your days are nights
When you want me I’ll be there.
Say my name and I’ll be there
for you.”

 

Leave a Reply

